Spark 10.2011

Presidents Letter

Dear members and friends of AIGA Honolulu,

I am excited to serve as your chapter president alongside eleven other energetic and hard-working board members. This new team has a refreshed vision of what AIGA Honolulu should be for local designers during an economic time where it’s important, now more than ever, to be a part of a community.

We thank you for your membership and continued support as we strive to create stronger relationships within our community, bring more value to our profession, make a positive social impact locally, and uphold the organization’s professional standards.

We are pleased to reintroduce eSpark, our e-newsletter that will serve as our means of quickly delivering relevant news, information and resources. We hope you enjoy it and welcome you to contact us personally with comments, questions or concerns. AIGA is you. Thank you for being a part of our small, but mighty design community.

Best, Angie

Upcoming Events

Hawaii’s 5-O Awards Show is November 19th!

A BIG MAHALO to who entered this year’s Hawaii’s 5-O competition. Your participation in the 5-O demonstrates your support for local businesses with excellence in design and printing in Hawaii. All of the winning designs will be revealed at the Award Show on Saturday, November 19, 2011 at the Bishop Museum. Formal invitations will be mailed in the coming weeks.

In addition to the Awards Show, winning designs will be recognized in a Winners’ Book available the night of the show, a traveling exhibition, and congratulatory ads in local publications.

For questions regarding the 5-O Show, please visit our website. For sponsorship information, please contact sponsorship director Ken Lincoln at

Members In the News

AIGA Honolulu
Education Director
Chae Ho Lee

Congratulations to AIGA Honolulu’s very own Education Director Chae Ho Lee for having been selected as recipient of the Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching! The University of Hawai’l Board of Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching recognizes faculty who exhibit an extraordinary level of subject mastery and scholarship, teaching effectiveness and creativity and personal values that benefit students.

Chae is an assistant professor in the Department of Art and Art History at the University of Hawai’i at Manoa. His intuitive and rigorous teaching methods, his spirited energy and his passion for teaching in the graphic design program inspire his students.

Read more »

Event Recap

Designer Dialogue
with Christopher Simmons

by Christine Koroki

On Thursday, September 1, 2011 AIGA Honolulu welcomed Christopher Simmons as part of the Designer Dialogue lecture series at UHM. Simmons is the owner of MINE™, was past president of AIGA San Francisco, was named Who’s Who in America of Emerging Leaders, and was deemed one of the “People to Watch in 2004” by Graphic Design USA. His award-winning studio has produced numerous books including Color Harmony: Logos and LogoLab and his work has been featured in dozens of publications including Graphis, HOW, STEP, and Dynamic Graphics. Clients include Bank of America, UCLA, Stanford University, The Nature Conservancy, and Kaiser Permanente.

During his lecture at UHM, Simmons shared his favorite projects and notable activities he assigns his students at the California College of the Arts. Ending with the Q&A, the audience asked Simmons about his advice on pricing projects and how to maintain a successful client/designer relationship. He also went in depth about how he keeps a successful business offering design services.

See photos on Flickr »

In Other News

UH Design Workshop takes 1st Place at the
2011 international AIGA (Re)Design Awards

Congratulations go out to the UH Design Workshop for coming in 1st Place in the Environmental/Sustainability category at the international 2011 AIGA (Re)Design Awards. The winning design is an identity system for the UH Mānoa School of Architecture which was produced using recycled paper, carbon-neutral printing, and single press sheets to reduce paper waste.

The AIGA (Re)Design Awards consists of a range of international submissions in multiple categories. Art Director Anne Bush and her crew of designers—Adine Close, John Cruz, Hao In Kuan and Yonghao Yan—beat out countries from five different continents to claim the top prize in their category. For a complete list of winners and participating countries, please visit the 2011 AIGA (Re)Design Awards website here.

By aigahonolulu
Published October 28, 2011
AIGA encourages thoughtful, responsible discourse. Please add comments judiciously, and refrain from maligning any individual, institution or body of work. Read our policy on commenting.